Assessment and Placement

Best Practices: Assessment and Placement
To be eligible for participation in the HOPE Consortium, individuals must have an assessment that results in diagnosis of an opioid and/or methamphetamine use disorder consistent with the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). Recognized Placement Criteria are required for determination of level of care. Recognizing that not all levels of care are available locally, careful documentation is encouraged to provide rationale for treatment at a level other than that supported by use of Recognized Placement Criteria.

The HOPE Consortium supports use of best practices through the availability of provider tools, other resources, and ongoing educational opportunities, as described below.
HOPE Partners may request the following provider tools to be purchase or printed by the HOPE Consortium:

Provider Tools

Assessment Substance Use Disorders
Diagnostic Schedule – 5 (SUDDS-5)
preview here
Triage Assessment for
Addictive Disorders – 5 (TAAD-5)
preview here
How to Request Provider Tools

Provider tools will be made available to partner agencies based on the number of clients served (i.e. number of clients in REDCap).

Copies of the tools described above for clinical use can be requested by completing the HOPE Consortium Provider Tools Order Form.

The Recognized Placement Criteria Summary can be downloaded and printed free of charge using the link above.


To download a PDF version of this webpage, click the button below: 
Best Practices - Assessment & Placement PDF

Web based training in the use of Recognized Placement Criteria is available to HOPE Consortium providers interested in gaining a better understanding of Recognized Placement Criteria and how to navigate placement criteria while assessing clients. Sign up here and Center for Community Health Advancement staff will assist with access.